IMD business school for management and leadership courses

IMD Foundation Board

The IMD Foundation Board is IMD’s ultimate governing body. Comprised of CEOs from companies which we have strong learning partnerships, the board ensures we are aligned to the evolving needs of the global corporate community. The role of the Foundation Board is to take all useful measures to administer and represent IMD and generally all steps permitting IMD to achieve its objectives.

Board members

At their annual meeting in November, IMD Foundation Board members approve IMD’s overall strategic direction and financial results, and elect board members.

Michel Demaré
Chair of the Foundation and Supervisory Boards at IMD and Chair-Designate at AstraZeneca Plc

Michel Demaré is Chair of the Foundation and Supervisory Boards of IMD and Chair-Designate at AstraZeneca Plc. He also chairs the Board of Nomoko AG and is a member of the supervisory boards of Vodafone Group Plc and Louis-Dreyfus Company International Holdings B.V. He previously served as Chair at Syngenta AG and SwissHoldings, and Vice Chair of UBS Group AG.

Hanne de Mora
Vice Chair of the IMD Foundation and Supervisory Boards and Co-Founder at a-connect

Hanne de Mora is Vice Chair of the IMD Foundation and Supervisory Boards and Co-Founder at a-connect, which she created in 2002. Based in Zurich, she takes an active role in client service with a specific focus on advising senior leaders on strategy and corporate governance. She is also a Non-Executive Director at Nestlé (chair of the Sustainability Committee), a Member of the Board of Directors of AB Volvo, and Chair of Microcaps AG.

Peter Wuffli
Honorary Chair of the IMD Foundation Board and Member of the Advisory Board at the elea Center

Peter Wuffli is Honorary Chair of IMD’s Foundation Board and Member of the Advisory Board at the elea Center. He is also the Founder and Chair of the elea Foundation for Ethics in Globalization. Wuffli also serves on the board of Sygnum, a digital asset bank in Zurich and Singapore, and he is the Vice Chair at the Zürich Opera House.

Members A-C
Members D-K
Members L-R
Members S-Z

Newly elected Foundation Board members

They will join the Board starting from 1 January 2023

  • Christoph Aeschlimann, CEO at Swisscom, replacing Urs Schaeppi
  • Abdulrahman AlJadhai, CEO at Elm
  • Jahangir (Jan) Doongaji, Designated CEO at Hilti, replacing Christoph Loos
  • Barbara Frei, Executive Vice President Industrial Automation, at Schneider Electric, IMD EMBA 2007
  • Axel Lehmann, Chair of the Board of Directors at Credit Suisse, replacing António Horta-Osório
  • Martin Naville, CEO of the Swiss-American Chamber of Commerce
  • Su-Mei Thompson, CEO of Media Trust, IMD MBA 2001
  • John Weeks, Professor of Leadership and Organizational Behavior at IMD, Faculty Representative on the Board, replacing Stefan Michel

Dates of future meetings

Meetings in 2023

Supervisory Board

  • 16-17 March 2023
  • 22-23 June 2023
  • 5-6 October 2023

Supervisory & Foundation Boards

  • 22-23 June 2023
  • 16 November 2023

Meetings in 2024

Supervisory Board

  • 14-15 March 2024
  • 6-7 June 2024
  • 3-4 October 2024
  • 7 November 2024

Supervisory & Foundation Boards

  • 6 June 2024
  • 7 November 2024
Get in touch with us

For further questions please contact Yassine Ayadi, Board Secretary of IMD.

At IMD we care about your privacy. We do not sell, rent, or otherwise make available to third parties any personal information for marketing purposes. Read complete privacy policy.